

MONTANA COUNCIL of ADMINISTRATORS for SPECIAL EDUCATION

Leadership Advocating Support and Success for ALL Students

(406) 442-2510 Phone (406) 442-2518 Fax www.sammt.org

President: Michelle Halberg President Elect: Sean Maharg Past President: Karen Underwood

Secretary: Jenny Malloy

Region Representatives: Pam Pettigrew, Lisa Von Bergen, Tamara Covington, Mary Meehan, Jenny

Malloy

MCEC Representative: Shelley Dempsey

I. Welcome and purpose of the meeting - Michelle

President Michelle Halberg called the December 5, 2019 Board meeting to order at 12:05 PM via GoToMeeting.

Present: Michelle Halberg, Tamra Covington, Karen Underwood, Jenny Malloy, Sean Maharg, Mary Meehan,

Lisa Von Bergen, Pam Pettigrew

Absent: Shelley Dempsey

II. Consent Agenda: September 22, 2019: Minutes (Motion/Discussion/Action)

Michelle reviewed the meeting minutes from September 22, 2019. Tamra Covington moved to approve the meeting minutes for September 22, 2019. Pam Pettigrew seconded the motion. There was no discussion and the motion passed unanimously.

III. MCASE Goals and Strategic Objectives:

1. <u>Leadership-Promote and Strengthen Special Education Leadership</u>

1.3.1. a. Promote recognition of outstanding Leaders in your regions: Establish new MCASE Award

Michelle made a motion to promote a new MCASE award. Pam Pettigrew moved to approve this motion. Sean seconded the motion.

Michelle discussed promoting a new award MCASE award that would be known as the Lori Ruffier Legacy Award. She noted to board members that the recipient of *The Lori Ruffier Legacy Award* will be in their first year of employment, have been recruited to their position by the Montana Schools Recruitment Project and nominated by the Montana Recruitment Project in collaboration with their school district. The recipient will be recognized at the Spring MCASE/MCEC conference and receive a check for five hundred dollars in hopes of

offsetting a challenge due to moving costs, relocation, joining their state or national organization or participate in professional development.

After discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

1.3.1 b Promote recognition of outstanding leaders in your regions: MCEC/MCASE awards

MCASE: Special Ed. Director, Special Ed Teacher, General Ed. Teacher

CASE: Harrie M. Selznick CASE Distinguished Service Award; CASE Outstanding Administrator of Special Education Award

Michelle asked if regions are promoting the MCEC/MCASE awards. Many regions have nominated in all award areas. There has been discussion of nominating Frank Podobnik for the Harrie M. Selznick award. It needs to be determined if Frank continues to be a CASE member. Dale Kimmet is an additional option to be nominated for this award. Michelle recommended that both be nominated.

Board members discussed having nominations to CASE awards be recognized at the state level at MCEC/MCASE in February.

2. <u>Professional Learning: MCASE will collaborate with state and local professionals including higher education to anticipate and provide professional learning opportunities that address the complex needs of learners.</u>

2.1.a –Establish fiscal support of MCEC/MCASE conference for 2021

(Motion/Discussion/Action)

Michelle motioned that MCASE offer financial support to the MCEC conference, as it is a joint conference.

Tamra Covington approved of this motion. Karen Underwood seconded the motion with an amendment to the motion to establish annual ongoing financial support of a fixed amount of \$5,000. Board members discussed that if there is profit gained from the MCEC conference that a portion of that profit is returned to MCASE.

Board members discussed needing more information from CEC representative, Shelley Dempsey.

After discussion, the motion was tabled.

IV. Next Board Meeting and recommendations for agenda items

MCASE Board Mtg.: Wednesday February 19, 2019: 5:00-7:00 pm.

MCASE Membership Mtg: Thursday February 20, 2019 8:00 -11:15 AM * Part of OPI

Fiscal commitment for ongoing MCASE awards

MCEC/MCASE Fiscal Award

Meeting adjourned: There being no further business Pam Pettigrew moved to adjourn the meeting at 12:45 PM. Karen Underwood seconded the motion.